People Who Love to Eat Are Always The Best People

Eeeps. It’s been awhile. How did that happen?

I’ve started two or three blogs, but didn’t have anything that interesting to write about, so they sat unfinished in a folder on my desktop. Who really cares about the small things I did, indeed, accomplish during a lazy week? Probably nobody.

Two things I have been doing a lot the last two months are cooking and baking. I don’t consider myself a great chef or baker, but (most of the time) I like the process. Even cleaning up afterwards. I like having yummy food and I like having a clean kitchen. I can’t wait to have a bigger kitchen – more shelves, more cabinets, more counter space. Can’t wait.

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-11-43-56-pm

Jonathan is great and eats basically anything I cook or bake. Even if it is so-so. I’m good at doing simple recipes; so majority of the time our meals turn out okay. But when I experiment, especially with ingredients I’m not familiar with, there’s a chance the dish may not turn out so great. Jonathan eats it anyway. He’s a good egg.

I get the most upset with I bake a dessert and it doesn’t turn out well. I made chocolate peanut butter cookies a three or four weeks ago, and chocolate peanut butter brownies last week (I sort of like chocolate and peanut butter) and neither turned out great.

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-11-44-15-pm

This one turned out well – lemon poppy seed cream cheese cake with berries. Yum!

One thing I’ve tried to make more of an effort doing is actually eating breakfast. Not just a protein bar or a piece of fruit, but an actual meal. I feel more energized and happy when I eat a real meal in the morning. I always thought if I wanted to lose weight that the best thing to do was to cut down on what I was eating, and the easy way to do so would be to cut breakfast altogether. Not true.

Some of my favorite breakfasts are oatmeal with fruit, Greek yogurt with granola and berries, or eggs and toast. All with a side of coffee or tea. Yum.

My easy dinners include salmon, chicken, or pork chops with a side of veggies (broccoli, asparagus, Brussels sprouts, sautéed peppers) and quinoa or a sweet potato.

When I’m being brave, I’ll make something like stuffed peppers, or experiment with a Crock Pot recipe. I recently made soup to use up random ingredients we had in the fridge and it turned out great.

Another favorite of ours is a flat bread/pizza using a wheat tortilla. Works really well with random veggies.

Dessert is my downfall. I love sweets. It is a struggle for me to make good choices when it comes to dessert. I’m still learning this. Instead of going out and buying a pack of Oreos, why don’t I eat a piece of dark chocolate instead? My go to lately has been mixing coconut oil with some dark chocolate chips, melting it, and then dipping strawberries in it. I don’t feel so guilty about that one and I still get my chocolate fix.

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-11-43-50-pm

Overall it has been nice being home and having more time to dedicate to grocery shopping, cooking, and baking. I know my husband is happy, too. Tomorrow I’m thinking of making a pasta dish with pesto, veggies, and shrimp. Another important thing I’ve learned this year is the 80/20 rule…or 90/10, or 70/30…whatever works best for you. Eating clean, fresh foods majority of the time, and then treating yourself a small portion of the time. Treat yo self. Life is short, gotta enjoy some delicious treats here and there, too.

screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-12-03-31-am

My weakness.

What’s one of your favorite recipes? What’s the most complicated? I think the most steps involved in one of the recipes I made was when I made my grandma’s vanilla sheet cake. It seemed like it was so simple – a cake! But there were so many steps! It all paid off though – was delicious.

People who love to eat are always the best people. -Julia Child

 

Leave a Reply

